16 Comments
author

Breaking news: Butt has relaxed!

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

somehow I didn't see 'learn about balance boards leading to butt clenching' on my to do list today butt (sic) here we are.

Expand full comment

Every time I see some new fitness gadget a memory of me grandmas fat shaker massage belt machine pops into my head. And the pulleys that hooked on a doorknob , etc. But hey I’m sure you’ll be fine

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I feel like clenched buttocks will lead to bigger 'splosions, right? I know when I'm reading/watching a thing I tend to clench up when things get good/tense/splosions are imminent, so maybe writing while clenched will make the writing more gooderer? Or maybe coz you're already clenched, you'll think boring things you write are tense, and an un-clenched reader will find it dull?

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

reminds me of those sandals that were huge in the 80s . . . . masseuse? or masseur or something? Absolute torture devices thought up by a sadist. I might have to elgoog them to see if there are any funny 80s reminiscence blogs.

On a serious note i'd read somewhere that walking off road (like in the grass with the normal ups and downs of natural ground not on a relatively flat footpath depending on the maintenance schedule of your local council) helps stave off alzeimers or helps with brain cognition because you need the brain in constant background mode adjusting balance for the uneven ground. I wonder if this board thing has similar benefits.

Expand full comment

Are you clenching because you feel you're about to fall off? Would practice help to lose this fear, and you could relax somewhat?

Expand full comment

Lol. I hope someone that blurbs the book says "A butt-clenching thriller!"

Expand full comment

The Dave would approve with the aforementioned buttock clenching especially doing something as girly as writing literature and prose.

Expand full comment