11 Comments

Sounds like you have your cranky pants on JB.... its just bread. I prefer to tear mine into chunks and use the base as a trencher for roast boar with a side of ocelot noses

Expand full comment

I just use a mitre box

Expand full comment

Perhaps Emily normally uses a two-handed grip, hacking at the bread in the manner of an inexpert headsman?

Expand full comment

But what if you have one of those square-in-profile pan cooked loaves? Stable whichever way you rest it. Preferably white over-processed yeast bread - it suits shallow thinkers.

Tbh, I've moved to using a sharp non-serrated knife for the robust, hearty sourdoughs I'm banging out of late. I get a cleaner cut, less mess and less crush.

Expand full comment

I'm with you JB, it's not brain surgery (unless one trepans along the side too). I admit, I learnt it after a period of being a dull-witted traditionalist. But I've not looked back.

Cutting bread is also the only reason a serrated knife exists in my kitchen.

Expand full comment

Apple's news feed give you "one weird trick" articles from non-news sources? That's a compelling argument to continue to have nothing to do with it...

But to humour the substance of this post: I count myself among the stable-base bread cutters, mostly because I don't want to squash or tear it, but also because I like a bit of diagonal on my slices, to make them longer than they would be cut straight across.

So: what's the skinny: why is cutting bread sideways "better" than the other way?

Expand full comment