22 Comments
Jul 7, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

My Master said to watch and enjoy, The Rhino will watch and enjoy.

Expand full comment
Jul 7, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Explaining the timeline to my 12-year-old daughter after four beers was probably the hardest thing about the film, but we enjoyed it.

Also, can you name the Weapons wowser? I'm happy for you to refer to him as me, so I get some notoriety.

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I too enjoyed it. It had me at buff Science teacher protagonist. Sure for timey whimy future war my go-to film is still All you need is Kill but this was fun. Was anyone at the meeting where we decided that The Tomorrow War was a shit film -I missed the memo. (yes I have seen all the negative reviews and comments but like Alan Tudyk's Resident Alien above "This is Bullshit".

Expand full comment
Jul 13, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Comrade, I concur - a fine way to pass a couple of hours. It really doesn't have to be coherent and logical to be ripping good fun. Like Iron Sky was fun even though it was even more ridiculous

Expand full comment
Jul 13, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

So glad I’m not the only one who enjoyed the ride. Watched with my daughter and the and the first thing we said once it was over was ,”well that wasn’t crap, let’s watch it again. “

Mind you there were a lot of stretches of the imagination but hell that thing needs stretching every now and again.

As for weapons, who needs guns when you can just use harsh words. If only they had thought to tell it to die in the future.

Glad to see you used the (TM) for Alien as i am considering Trademarking the (TM) symbol and waiting for the bucks to roll in.

Onwards to the sequel Chris Pratt also demands the aliens get a real job and a haircut (spikes are so 80s).

Expand full comment
Jul 7, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Come on, you all felt that door policy blunder was grating, didn't you!

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Watching sci-fi on TV??? Did you not see the process I outlined in your last piece???

Expand full comment

Kind of derivative of movies like Starship Troopers, Aliens, and even the 1982 remake of The Thing. All very good movies, but still borrowed. The plot holes could have easily been fixed by a good writer (such as Birmo), and not with a great deal of exposition. Pratt is a good action hero, but I couldn't buy him as a special forces leader or scientist.

Expand full comment

Edge of Tomorrow also only had guns that go bang. Still using F-35s 30 years in the future is totally plausible, given how long they've taken to arrive in the present (and how long it's reported to require to upload a new mission plan into each of them). I haven't watched this one yet, but I'm a fan of Chris Pratt's movies, so I will soon.

Expand full comment

I really enjoyed it! The only thing missing was a rousing Bill Pullman speech and a sidebar romantic plotline involving Sigourney Weaver and Linda Hamilton.

Expand full comment

Yep, you're totally correct. Again. It's a blast. It's stupid. It's fun. It is what it is - and let's embrace it for that. I'm wanting a sequel too. You did fail to mention the big surprise - J. K. Simmons is super old and super buff - what does that bloke eat for breakfast?

Expand full comment

Well my weekend viewing is all sorted

Expand full comment

who the fk is Sydney Phillip Jones fk tards are us to shit can it anyways...fkn muppet!

Expand full comment

I watched it on the weekend and am pretty much 100% aligned with your view.

Expand full comment

It looks awesome!!

Expand full comment