5 Comments
Nov 11, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I used to track steps with the fitness thing on my phone, but after a while it got bored and stopped sending notifications and reports. I haven't heard from it at all for a year or so, now, so I'm a bit afraid to make the first move and open it manually. I can take the hint.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I have the opposite problem, everytime I go for a run my watch's suggested workout is rest day. Then when I run it calls me unproductive or overreaching.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

When you’re doing Steptember the app gives you two giant rings: one gradually closing as the thirty days counts up, and the other one that you have to close by walking 10k steps per day or 300k in total. Relentless in it’s own way.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

You can set the garmin watch for a certain number of steps, and the default is obv the 10k per day. But it can be hard to build up to that level, so it has a flexible thing too. The unfortunate thing is that when you start doing well it goes up. And up. And up. It doesn't stop. So when you fail to hit the now-well-above 10k target, you've failed. Where's the fricking logic in that?

Expand full comment

My pedometer is invaluable. However, there are times I want to drop my phone into some body of water.

Expand full comment