20 Comments
Nov 12, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

I saw a brown couch on the footpath last week. It must have been a sign. So, my Spirit Guide is actually a Felafel prop. The couch stayed there for three days. Share housers are pretty slow on asset spotting these days.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Interesting but some gems such as "Sandmen of the terror data" are timeless and even more relevant in the current world of Duttonland

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Soo happy for you!

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

I still purchase every copy of babes I find at lifeline etc. I have distributed over 50 of them over the last many years. It is my go to book for non reading bogans.

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

You could swap Frazer McLennan for the Decoy.

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

It has reminded me that I have to assign the beautifully signed copy of Felafel to my eldest who has finished his final exam yesterday as a salutary lesson around share houses. That will be his second JB book to read....

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

That is a pretty big rabbit hole you are about to dive into. My kids don't believe rotary dial phones were real (no one would wait that long to dial) so your explanations of old tech better be accompanied by pictures and links to Wikipedia.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Congratulations on your first children returning to the fold. Maybe some footnotes with splosions in them, just so they don't feel left out?

Expand full comment

I first read Felafel in badly photocopied reviewer Folio and just pre-purchased Shattered Skies for Kindle. Re-edit all you want and definitely re-release, but don't do a George Lucas: they are what they beautifully are. Don't fuck em up.

Expand full comment

I've still got my yellow first edition Felafel as a prized possession!

Expand full comment

Very pleased for you John. Good news. Are you planning to restore the 'missing' chapter from the famous midnight edit, or did that get pushed into 'Babes'. I can't remember the details of that story right now.

On another note, who has the rights to the two Felafel guides titles. I have a copy of 'Getting Wasted 'but I have never seen a copy of the Felafel Guide to Sex, and I have hunted for it, believe me. I also remember how bloody hard it was to find an affordable copy of 'Savage Henry'.

Expand full comment

Why did you sign over the rights in the first place, John?

Expand full comment

What sort of sin is it to have never read either book?

I did see the movie though, but only because I was on a long flight somewhere.

Expand full comment