20 Comments
Jul 13, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I have the problem of if i sit my arse on a lounge i will go to sleep. Most of my viewing is done standing up watching what the kids want - which is not as bad as it sounds. Kids stuff is quality these days, they are getting older and i can influence what they like, and the stuff the kids (and the wife) arent quite ready for . . .well i have been doing landscaping outside and the main hangout areas are all within a respectable distance of the house wifi (think: firepits, stars, fighting off wombats and possums for the best seats). I'm like the person with seven bookmarked books on the bedside table though. There's the partner's shows, the kid's shows, my shows. Some we all watch as they are released, some are watched by only three of us when we are in the same room, some are only two of us. So timing matters . . . . and i must admit i remember i am watching something and have to pick it up after a long hiatus.

Expand full comment

Afraid I am still in the first mode, watch the whole thing in sequence and move on. However I have modified this for Netflix after hearing about how it decides if it will renew a series. Apparently the eyeballs in the first few days are more important than if everyone eventually goes on to watch it. So if a new series drops on netflix that I am interested I try and watch the first couple of episodes and if I like it binge the series as soon as possible. A pity I discovered this when I learned that vampires in revolutionary France are the blue bloods 'La Révolution' series wasn't getting a second season.

Expand full comment

I’m more free to air, traditional style, with a bent towards ABC and SBS…although this month thenTour demFrance has thrown any other tv viewing out the window. That, and new Rick and Morty, or Letterkenny!

Expand full comment

I usually watch TV shows about European dictators , my wife watched murder shows.... so many murder shows. She asked me why I don't like them like she does. Well its this. I prefer my murder mass not one on one.

Expand full comment

Like you I tend to focus on one series at a time, but there'll be certain evenings that are reserved for the once a week drops, like at the moment Wednesdays are Loki nights, and I've made Friday The Good Fight night, but in between I'm burning through 3 seasons of Yellowstone. I'm coming to the end of Yellowstone and I'm trying to work out what my next show will be, and I find that while my selections do depend on my mood, sometimes my mood is determined by the show I'm watching? Like I couldn't contemplate switching to a comedy after 30 odd episodes of Kevin Costner playing a cowboy Ned Stark (to be honest Yellowstone is more Sons of Anarchy with cowboys than GoT) so i'm going to have to move on to something equally serious when this is done. Probably Dr Death on Stan because I'm at the tail end of Gen X and Christian Slater is imprinted on my psyche...

Expand full comment

The way we watch TV is: (1) she falls asleep on the sofa early in the evening, (2) I start watching something, (3) she wakes up towards the end of said something, (4) she complains about how dumb and unbelievable my choices are, (5) we watch something she has chosen, and possibly (6) I go to bed.

How does that fit into the thesis?

Expand full comment

You're lucky JB. I have to watch whatever my wife's mood dictates. And it's quite eclectic, one could even say chaotic. "Ooohhh, hot flush, lets watch a docco about polar bears."

Expand full comment