17 Comments
Aug 30, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

My daughter is posting me something, presumably for Fathers' Day. I wonder if I will be similarly blessed, or will I have no daughter?

Expand full comment

welcome to the team and welcome to your new addiction. I promise you will love it! for cooking pizza, I recommend the gidgy hardwood charcoal, seems to be in most bbq stores. runs nice and hot and can handle lots of opening and closing the lid (and associated heat loss) if your cooking for a party.

Expand full comment

That looks and sounds like a sweet piece of kit. I am not allowed any more cooking kit which makes me a little sad. Do they come in red? That might get traction as it will fit with herself's colour scheme.

Expand full comment

I had never heard of these devices untill now. I now want one of these more than I have ever wanted anything.

Expand full comment

Goodbye John. You are going so far down a rabbit hole, you wont even have to come up for food because it will be all smokey and slow cooked goodness, rubbed in mysterious herbs and spices, marinated in potions.

It's also a good excuse to get a chainsaw, and a drop saw (yes, you can have both) because that wood ain't gonna cut itself. And a ute to put all the wood in.

Expand full comment

Ooooooh man, as a long-time kamado-haver do I have a killer tip for you, then.

Get yourself a smartfire (https://smartfirebbq.com/). It's a bit spendy, but for low and slow cooks there's nothing like it - literally set and forget.

Slap that brisket on, monitor the temp of the pit and meat from the pub. It's transformative.

Expand full comment

You could buy A LOT of socks and undies for the price of one of these.

Expand full comment