7 Comments

Preach it, brother. BJJ is going to be a long time coming. Thankfully I have a cousin who likes to get drunk and tackle me in bars. The bouncers know him and just slowly shake their heads while I try to get out of a choke hold without spilling my drink. I don't know about QLD, but SA doesn't even allow bag work (shared sweat). It's amazing how much of a Quisling your body becomes once you hit your mid-forties. 'You want to do weighted dips? Let me go have a word with your shoulders. BRB.'

As others have said, the only bad workout is the one you don't do (and the one that twists your knee out from under you while you're doing deadlifts).

Expand full comment

Speaking of mediaeval: is interesting how often modern medicine is "dunno". We're a long way from tricorders and certainty. Even after taking a couple of drive-by biopsies, you'd hope for more. Glad to hear that you're on the up-swing now.

Expand full comment

Yeah I too did something different since swimming is out at present (well, I can still hit the beach and freeze!). I got back on the indoor cycle trainer for the first time in six months...who'd have thought not riding for about 6 months would fail to prepare you for riding? Rediscovered a few muscles I had forgotten!

Expand full comment

I would look it as more than the workout you did the day before.

Expand full comment

That's some serious shit to come back from, probably a little way from running hill repeats!

Expand full comment