14 Comments

Here in Canberra the situation is holding at relatively free movement. Fortunately, just not that people want to come here at the best of times. Also, the majority employer (and adjacent industries) is able to handle working from home for the public servants.

I'm working 3-4 days at home per week and do those pesky face-to-face meetings when I have to.

Expand full comment

I think we're just finding out that we're no different to the rest of the world. Generally decent, willing to do whats needed. But there's always that 1 per cent of muppets who can and will bugger things up for everyone else due to self interest. Always going to happen - it's human nature.

The teenagers in question have been busted, big time. While part of me thinks "throw the book at them" (pour encourageur les autres), I think the media has dropped the ball by naming them.

Expand full comment

And Clive wants WA to open up ...

Expand full comment

I have to head to the border at the end of next month for compassionate grounds. Father in law diagnosed with cancer in a few places in his body. Heart wrenching for the family. But a month is so long away! In these times a month can change drastically.

Luckily i'm rural NSW so outside the Sydney cordon (for the moment) but people love to travel for the weekend out here (and i have to shop and work in town, kids go to school). Being isolated on my block was all fine - i live out in the bush, i can bunker down and yell at the cows to take their mooing elsewhere (and did do in the first few months), but then reality of family health hit. I want a refund on this year, can i speak to the manager please?

Expand full comment

I'm already masking up when I go out here in Wollongong.

Expand full comment

West Australia and maybe Tasmania seem to be the only states with a decent crackdown. Queensland is still pandering to the NRL anti vaxxers and letting any excuse past the border based on today’s news.

Expand full comment

It's been quite a lovely year.

Expand full comment

Yeah as much as I like not having to commute to work because I am privileged enough to be able to work from home down here in Plaguetown I wouldn't wish a reemergence of the outbreak on QLD. Consistent advice with this virus has been go early and go hard if you want to minimize the impact as illustrated by NZ.

Expand full comment