15 Comments
May 3, 2023·edited May 3, 2023

Congratulations! You got a free physics lesson in how cats are a non Newtonian liquid 😻

How did you expect to undertake a walk without adequate supurrvision? Seriously, buy a harness and a lead, and take the cat with you. She'll probably take you for a walk.

Expand full comment

"I am fond of pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals."

Winston Churchill

Expand full comment

What you need is a lead. Once you put that on the cat it will not want to walk anywhere. Otherwise just embrace the whole thing. I'm sure the cat could find its way home. Isn't there some show that tracked cats around the hood, and the owners were very surprised about how far they roamed or what they got up to?

Expand full comment

I am convinced that the only creature more able to escape confinement, outflow through tiny spaces and with more vindictive nature than a cat is an Octopus.

They can unscrew jars from inside https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvvjcQIJnLg 1.39

They can flow through the tiniest hole https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3N0i_KM8cI 1.43

And will punch a fish for shits and giggles https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i30b8PGsVA0 0.31

Expand full comment

Yep. That's how it goes.

Expand full comment

Is that any way to talk about a cat that graciously decided to take you for a walk? Oh wait, did you think you were in charge? LOL

Expand full comment

Gold.

I still remember the chaos when my daughter was born 19 years ago.. Two weeks early, so everyones routine was bent out of shape.

I got home after the most surreal day of my life to find an overanxious dog and a cat whose whole attitude was "where the fuck have you been?".

I needed a walk to gather myself (and to pick up the car), and doggo needed one too.

We got about a kilometer from home when I heard this "miaow?'. .. I spent the remainder of my walk with a pissed off feline tucked under one arm, and the pooch trying to wrench my arm out of its socket via the leash.... I can laugh about it now...

Expand full comment

Years back we had a small Pekingese dog, and a large black. I’d take dog for short walk and the cat would follow along, head butting the dog to get him to go home! These days we have two cats in our small flat. They both like the balcony and the older cat has only fallen off twice! He doesn’t go far Ashe is a scaredy cat…if I show him the cat lead he bolts and hides, same if the cat carrier comes out for a vet visit. The younger one is adventurous, happily wanders about outside on the lead at her pace, and her favourite game is dashing out into the hallway when the front door is opened. She goes for a gallop then flops on the floor.

Expand full comment

Nth-ing "just take her for a walk too". Although you might need a little pram for when she decides she is Done.

Expand full comment

The eyes betray her. Behold Eris ...Greek goddess of chaos

Expand full comment

what a clever kitty tho'

Expand full comment