10 Comments
Nov 14, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

“I only write when inspiration strikes. Fortunately, it strikes at nine every morning.” William Faulkner

Expand full comment
Nov 14, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

"This last bit makes me feel better about those phrases in my notepad that I can never use because I don’t remember if I wrote them or just copied them down" don't let that stop you remember the great American Physicist Tom Lehrer song Lobachevsky

"Plagiarize,

Let no one else's work evade your eyes,

Remember why the good Lord made your eyes,

So don't shade your eyes,

But plagiarize, plagiarize, plagiarize...

Only be sure always to call it please, "research"

Expand full comment

It’s amazing that when you see creative genius ... athletes, writers , musicians , standup comics.....they make it look effortless. The truth is of course that you find out they all work and practice their ssses off. The ability to create is a talent. Doesn’t amount to shit without the work

Expand full comment

Finishing up at 5pm, no matter what, I kinda get but kinda don't. There's the point that working late just to be seen to be a workaholic is obviously an exercise in diminishing returns- the quality just won't be there. But on the other hand, there is working late because you know that the end is close, that just a little bit more effort will be worth it.

And that's just my own wage-slave existence. What's it like for self-employed creative types?

Expand full comment

I think I read that deep-focus productivity nerd Cal Newport has a similar 9-5 office hours approach.

Expand full comment