11 Comments
author

It gladdens me to hear others are as hopeless as I.

Expand full comment

No kids left but a new corgi pup has forced us to pick up laundry lest it be left in tatters by morning. She has a fondness for socks and unmentionables and enjoys picking them up and hauling them to the living room for all to see. Already had one incident when we had friends over for dinner. It would have been embarrassing but I’m beyond caring what others think

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Our clothes live for long periods in a number of washing baskets, perhaps four, plus a pile for when one of the baskets is required...for more clothes. As my work and life uniform are pretty much identical (t-shirt and shorts year round), my needs are limited, and ironing is unnecessary.

On the other hand our dining table is free of clothes. It is currently occupied by cookie decorating stuff and sewing, as well as an occasional Amazon box. We do clear it whenever the grandchildren are around so we can pretend we eat/live like civilised people.

Expand full comment

I bought nifty portable storage solutions from an online retailer in Hong Kong and cleaned up my floordrobe and you know what happened? I couldn't find any of my fucking clothes. The previous system, of "when did I wear that last and was it in this week's washing?" worked flawlessly for locating clothing as required. Folding everything up neatly and sorting it into storage has made my house look tidier but AT WHAT COST JB??

Expand full comment

Pretty sure that's not how laundry works

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023·edited Apr 3, 2023

I have a perfectly good floordrobe, why would I put things in a cupboard, or good forbid, a drawer.

Expand full comment

Trouble with thrown laundry (or just leaving it in the washing basket) is that it dramatically increases the time spent looking for the thing you want to wear. There's also the sock-vs-dog situation that Bill mentioned. Luckily I enjoy sorting and stacking, but I'm lazy enough to know what the alternatives look like.

Expand full comment

We have one teenager remaining at home, so we just have this table where all the clean laundry goes forever. I think it started life as a Dining Table.

Oh, and the clothing table is now so full of clothes we have a couch that is rapidly filling with clothing. The sun room was lost in the early days of covid, the room the other teenager once occupied is gone, and I fear one day I'll return from the bookshop to discover that the kitchen is being invaded by BJ-J gis and jeans...

Expand full comment