8 Comments

Weirdo wife loves the Bertie Beetle bag. I remember when they were actually sample bags and free. What were those triangular drink packages you froze?- Sunny Boys? They were the ducks nuts back then and up there..... and the show was the only place in the beef capital that did shoestring fries like Maccas. One a year treat.

Expand full comment

The older I get the more certain I am that my parents would stealthily remove the hubba bubba bubble gum from my show bags, then gaslight me that I must have eaten them already. The scars remain.

Expand full comment

The bags were never a big thing for me at the Ekka, always just went for the rides, or when I was young the Japanese (with many horrible stereotypes I can't remember) fish pond where you could catch goldfish live and take home.

Expand full comment

Sunnyboys were great! A summer staple hereabouts. In the past we have bought a Bertie Beetle showbag and mailed it to my sister in law overseas...she's a bit of a fan. Note - this was the Sydney Easter Show.

Expand full comment