17 Comments
Jul 5, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

John Banville. He writes his serious novels under his own name and, to pay the bills, he writes crime novels under the name of Benjamin Black. I’ve read some of those and they are good.

Book tour memory. It was probably 1978.

U.S. author Marilyn French had written a novel, The Women’s Room, which had been quickly recognised as one of the most important feminist literary works yet published. And surprisingly to me, I saw her sitting, with 4 or 5 copies of her book, at a table on the top floor of Myer in the Brisbane CBD. Utterly alone. Her facial expression of desolation within that wasteland still haunts me occasionally.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Makes me grateful to be in the public service, in some ways. People have to attend my workshops, whether they want to or not. And we're all getting paid anyway so there's a level of forced enthusiasm.

Expand full comment

And to think my biggest anxiety about book signings is having the poor author think I'm a gormless idiot as I fangirl at them. Just realised they would be grateful for it 😂

Expand full comment

Oh, have I been here.

Expand full comment

Mortification: Writers’ Stories of their Public Shame - which includes 80 stories such as "an author wanting to kill a member of her audience or another succeeding (accidentally) in killing his host's beloved pet". Well now I am going to have to dig out my copy and re read it.

Expand full comment

I have never been to a book signing. I had a chance once to get a signature from Henry Rollins but the crowds were too big and my other half took the kid instead. In fact that kid has been to more of those things than me - Peter Cundall is probably the crowning jewel in that list ;) All i can think of is stuffing up an awkward bon mot and the risk of repeating the same thing that a hundred other people have uttered before you. Not to mention hearing about the hand washing routines authors have to do on these things. I figure i am doing a service not to pass on my germs. I've already bought the books. Authors doing book tours and parents of childcare aged kids must be some of the strongest immune systems out there.

Expand full comment

I have a vague memory of a collection of short stories based/titled something like 'regret', or 'humiliation' or 'disgust' (I think it had a Short Story by one John Birmingham) that featured an author's horrible experience at book launch.

Expand full comment

No solid gold hovercraft for him, then!

Expand full comment