17 Comments
Sep 26, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I've been wasting my life

Expand full comment
Sep 27, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I would recommend starting off with some cheaper cuts of meat until you get a feel for the egg.

Pork loin or cheap ribs would be a good way to get started. Yes to BBQ being the cure all for American malaise.

Also, do not get hung up on the whatever type of sauce is recommended, it's all about the meat.

The philosophy in Texas is that sauce is for people who can't cook.

Expand full comment

One of my work colleagues is Brazilian and has a Komodo Joe... I mentioned you discovering the Big Green Egg and he was off, I should have recorded the conversation for you (it was at the pub so very noisy). He was telling me what size egg/komodo I needed and I was like "mate, it's me and a cat, I couldn't eat all the BBQ I'd produce!"

I shall have to live vicariously through the posts on the Burger. And if the Independent Sovereign Nation of Westralia ever allows us to cross the Nullabor again, BBQ party at JB's house!

Expand full comment

my boss on maternity leave sent a pic of her hubby and the 3yr old doing a side by side grill (after being excoriated by some yanks about calling grilling bbq'ing i have finally come around to their point of view). Anyway, on the 3yr old pretend bbq there was all the standard fake food like eggs and bacon etc but the kid had also put a fake croissant on there and it got me to thinking . ... what if you properly smoked a croissant in a bbq and then filled it with whatever meat you had just cooked? Dispense with the traditional burger bun and fusion it with some french goodness. Probably already been done . . .i should look it up.

Expand full comment

ASMRBBQ I suppose

Expand full comment

Try a nice wagyu brisket. I find that even I can't muck that up too badly.

Expand full comment

A friend has one of these contraptions, and I must say his BBQ and smoked chickens are pretty amazing.

Expand full comment

Honestly, for a fairly fail-safe awesome first cook I'd steer you towards pulled pork. It's a very forgiving cook, doesn't care super much if the pit gets a little hot (unlike ribs, which turn to leather) and the result is oh so good.

This recipe (https://amazingribs.com/tested-recipes/pork-recipes/perfect-pulled-pork-recipe/) is simple, forgiving, and produces the most amazing pulled pork you've ever eaten.

The overnight dry brine is key.

Expand full comment

Geez, I dunno. If you are really after soothing, narcotising mellifluity, Bob Ross makes this guy sound like The Chipmunks on speed…though there’s no evidence that he could barbecue a chunk of dead mammal for shit.

Expand full comment

That video was going so well. I'm glad that I'd already had lunch. But then he cut his perfect burger in half with a knife!? What is the world coming to...

Expand full comment

Goodbye deadlines.

Expand full comment