10 Comments
Apr 11, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I enjoyed the Night Agent a lot more than I expected to. It's definitely "just TV", but in a good way, and doesn't dive off to realms of implausibility as some such shows do. Manages to keep it tight and balanced until the end.

I managed to injure myself while carving a chicken roast on Saturday: waving a carving knife around in an ill-advised fashion while trying to cut the leg-binding string in a hurry. So, much less gardening and bike-riding than planned, after that. Thumb still attached, at least. Good excuse for lots of bed rest.

Expand full comment
Apr 11, 2023·edited Apr 11, 2023

Thumbs up for the Night Agent and The Recruit, perhaps an extra half thumb for The Recruit as it seems a little more plausible.

I scored a Lindt bunny, well I bought it for myself, and it was eaten for breakfast with not an ounce of guilt, although ms insomniac AND her sister both said, independently, that I was a like a child. Meh, I say.

Expand full comment
Apr 11, 2023·edited Apr 11, 2023

Curious about your feelings about your son the baker’s career choices , not judging, but my grandson is thinking about career paths that are not as financially rewarding as he is capable of.

We just want him to be happy, but I am a type A guy who has done well in the capitalist system.

PS.

My great aunt owned a bakery and was an awesome role model.

The night sh gent was good stuff, currently watching Transatlantic.

Expand full comment

Given the comments by three people whose opinions I respect are to endorse the night agent I'll check it out

Expand full comment

i executed plans of taking sunrise pics but the weather was terrible - got something on the friday morning then the weather rolled in just as i was packing up. Sunrise rainbow closed off the photo shoot (and i even included an easter theme by using the cross of a power pole . . . i'm going to hell, lol) but I didn't even get to have a drink all weekend - the kid had shifts placed on saturday and monday. Had big plans for sunday but didn't happen again because i wanted to get up early again for pics for Monday and jobs took up the rest of the time. Plus it was blowing a gale and rainy, so sitting around the firepit was out unless i wanted a horizontal fire that i got simultaneously soaked and scorched at the same time. Moderately successful as photography goes (even tried out timelapses for the first time and got to post a reel in IG, with music even! Influencer world here i come!) but it kind of felt like being "adult". Kind of ties in to your post about mental vs physical age. It was a bit of a mature one.

Expand full comment

The last couple of episodes of the Night Agent had me shouting in annoyance at the TV.

I enjoyed The Recruit a lot more for some reason.

Expand full comment