21 Comments
Sep 4, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

IMDb have a 'coming soon' poster up: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt12894358/mediaviewer/rm1337717505/

Expand full comment
Sep 4, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Wow, congratulations! Being waiting to see that since I read the books. Hope the series finds it’s way to Canada.

Expand full comment

Two cheers. Reserve the third.

I do so hope it is good so that, well, I enjoy it, it gets completed, and then we get the Cruel Stars based on the books written by the person who wrote the books on which Weapons of Choice was based.

If it's good I'll give it four cheers.

I suspect the part the TV folks with struggle with is the part of the story about clashes of cultures. Which for me is what makes the books wonderful and not just another techno-thriller (though the techno-thrilling is superb).Ditto character death, and killing characters when the story needs it.

Expand full comment

Awesome picture. A boat, in the jungle, with some GI's going WTF. Even without knowing the story, the viewer is asking questions.

Expand full comment

*Insert fanboy 'squeeee' here* Man this is fabulous news! Love the concept pic too. A caveat - I hope they don't stuff it up....

Expand full comment

Somehow I missed it. Congratz JB. Since I read it, ages ago, I was always thinking how great it would look in a movie/series. Any predictions when it will come out?

Expand full comment

fuck moi I cannot tell you how excited I am to hopefully watch this one day. If they stuff it up I'll have to burn the place down though...

Expand full comment

Old mate Idris playing Lonesome? Thoughts?

Expand full comment

Apologies for the fanboying, but I'm super excited. I hope they commit to the societal change bits as well . . . I started the series completed interested in the tech (what's in the realm of the possible for generational weapons skip and how fast can the uptimers advance tech) but quickly realized that there's a important societal advance as well . . . Occupied was awesome (at least the first 2 seasons). Please tell me its going to be on a network I can access in the U.S. (looking at you netflix)

Expand full comment

I know this may be premature but do you know when should I be penciling this into my diary

Expand full comment

Congratulations. Is this the first adaptation since Felafel? I had been thinking about how to do SuperDave, but this looks like a much, much bigger project. Please use all your EP powers (You are getting an EP credit?) to avoid shortcuts in realism - nothing ruins a historical fiction quicker than marines in 2024 dressed in jungle greens using M16s and listening to 'Fortunate Son'. You'll also have to update 2CAV with LAND 400 and, and... Hey. Why am I stressing? It's your baby. Have fun.

Expand full comment