11 Comments

My Mother-in-law in Germany uses her desktop for only one thing ... the occasional game of solitare while waiting for the Apfelkucken to bake in the oven. Old School

Expand full comment

The phone service sure as hell didn’t cost 200 bucks a month either. My first apartment cost less per month than my cellphone bill now. But you couldn’t take a selfie with a rotary phone .

Expand full comment

Soon mobile phones will go the way of political ethics. If his majesty Musk's latest brain fart, the Neuralink becomes a reality, avian porcines may become commonplace before that, we will be taking calls to the frontal lobe, alas Indian scammers will still give you a headache. The first question to be solved is the ring tone, should you get a vibration in your brain or a medley of Black Sabbath tunes? Zombie reanimation could become a medical condition.

Either way, I would like to give a ringing endorsement to Mr Bell. Sorry about that one, I couldn't resist it.

Expand full comment

I liked the line from one of the characters in the ABC comedy "Fisk", telling Helen Tudor-Fisk that she tried telling her old mum not to pick up the phone because the only people who ring are "telemarketers and scammers". That said I'm still paying Tesltra for a landline so my wife can call her mother in Germany every Sunday evening (for the past 25 years).

Expand full comment

If I could disable the phone calls from my phone, it'd make a great communication device.

That said, the Aldi Family Plan we're on ($80 a month for 4 phones!) is pretty awesome. What sort of deal are you guys on paying $200 a month?

Expand full comment

Ha. Remember the days when the phone rang because it was actually someone calling for a reason? (unless it was a couple of teenagers pranking). Then slowly you got the cold callers with a "foreign accent" that people treated with racist undertones, and eventually it became our worst best friend sitting in our pocket. I struggle so hard getting my kids to pick up their phone, even though they seem inseparable from it they somehow don't seem to hear it ringing and believe that being a phone is its third function soon to be obsolete . . . . . and lets not mention their phone etiquette is terrible

Expand full comment