12 Comments
Apr 13, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

While it is a sad thing, it's not like you'll need to buy any more, or your children, or your children's children...

Me? I'm off today to buy two giant cheap plastic containers that will hopefully keep 36 cupcakes fresh for 24 hours.

Expand full comment
Apr 13, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

yeah - i heard this on the radio this morning as well. And you are right about the disposability of inferior plastic containers these days. I was rummaging around in the shed looking for a cover for the chicken food contraption and found an old round tupperware lid. And it was with much guilt that i cut a slit in the top so that it would fit over the attachment. It felt like sacrilege defacing some bonafide tupperware that was created back when the sex pistols were shaking the world (just guessing on the age as it was very yellow).

Expand full comment

I still have Tupperware hand me downs from my grandma. Those awesome 70s colors . Orange, avocado. Works like the day it was bought. Everything else is a sad ass pretender. Bummer

Expand full comment

Glad I'm not the only one to feel sad about this. When I first got out of college, my older sister bought me tons of it and she put leftovers in them so I could spend more money on booze.

Expand full comment

You know before the ubiquitous plastic there were other ways to store things. Whilst they also had draw backs, perhaps we should reconsider if plastic is the best choice. I agree a longer term plastic storage box is better option than a short term plastic storage box but in terms of lifespan both are going to be degraded into microplastics, washed into the sea and enter the food chain.

Expand full comment

Could be the Amazon thing, but it could also be selling things that don't need to be replaced. System's geared for *consumption*, not using indefinitely.

But it's probably the sales model. Who wants to have to meet people? At their house?!

Expand full comment

My mother, who turns 78 in a couple of weeks, still uses Tupperware that she received as a wedding gift 55 years ago 😲

Expand full comment

Hmm. I might need to source some at a flea market before it becomes "collectible."

Expand full comment