15 Comments
Oct 20, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Better than me, everything I know about air combat I learned watching Top Gun.

Expand full comment
Oct 20, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Gee man, seems a bit harsh. Kinda sounds like a usual Monday for most of us. Tool about for a bit, find something distracting, but could be justified as actual work.....I've always got research to do. Often on a Monday.....

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

I am supposed to be writing a briefing about after hours support models but instead I am faffing about looking at the whiny-assed blogs of my fave author.....

And now the 4th industrial revolution - who knew - no doubt followed by some interesting reading on recent air combat scenarios.

Expand full comment
Oct 20, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Research rabbit holes are a major trap. I fell down one on the 4th industrial revolution this week. Article due tomorrow, only half written *but* I know all about the topic now. I try not to think of it as lost time - rather an investment in quality output and future scribblings. Occasional faffing is a human condition.

Expand full comment

300 words sounds a lot to someone who wrote stuff all today.

Expand full comment

Well you could have had me singing "You've lost that loving feeling" in the pilot's mess, so that is a plus :-D

Expand full comment

Good sir, the only thing you could have done to ruin alternate history techno thriller mashups for everyone is to write an air combat scene that was technically and factually incorrect, because every professional and amateur flying expert would have ripped you apart in the comments pointing out that the F-5 didn't work like that, or aerodynamics doesn't work like that WHAT WERE YOU THINKING BIRMINGHAM and so falling down a research rabbit hole to get everything correct is the only logical and reasonable approach to have taken. Do not be so harsh on yourself.

Expand full comment

James Salter, Burning the Days

Expand full comment

FKN BANZAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I bring pressure with no fkn effort and from this perfection!- You had most fkn certainly better get ya splodie god dam pants fkn on!

Expand full comment

"I’ve let myself down. I’ve let Tom Clancy down. I’ve ruined alternate history techno thriller mashups for everyone."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfI6vSflA5Y

Expand full comment

FFS! Running down a rabbit hole chasing after Havsy? Better take a shottie and a knife. What’s next, fixing his driveway? Just remember that when he sledges you it’s his nature. He is an old wicketkeeper after all.

Expand full comment