6 Comments
Sep 27, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

I like short stories. I suspect that the internet might have stunted my ability to persevere with long-form reads: a "couple of thousand words" is about the length of a long-form blog or news article, and about the limit of what you can get through in a single scrolling page on the web.

I reckon that if you started writing them and publishing them in some sort of low-resistance fashion, you'd probably go viral, and start a new wave of culture. That would be cool.

Expand full comment

Well you know what your Authorcrush Stephen King said about short stories "A short story is a different thing all together – a short story is like a kiss in the dark from a stranger." Which if its a King story, would be creepy/terrifying.

Expand full comment

As for ideas, what about lifting some from "felafel" and maybe embellishing them a little? Otherwise how bout some Cruel Stars back stories? That would certainly float my starboat!

Expand full comment

Go re-visit Asimov, he is the master of short stories. Guess that was a product of the times and writing for SF mags. I have a bunch of books that are collections of his short stories. He has a very distinctive style, and yes no word goes to waste

Expand full comment

For the last couple of years I have been writing magazine articles between 300 and 2000 words. The shorter they are, the more time they seem to take (proportionally) to get the balance right. They are particularly tricky when ghostwriting in someone else's voice.

As you say - every word has to earn its place. And the idea has to be solid.

Right now I have 3 deadlines looming. No real clue on the longer ones just yet but, fortunately, I have the shorter one sussed. I'm waiting for the 'ahah' moments to come for the big ones. Then, it's churn time.

Expand full comment