29 Comments

It does a decent job of portraying a working cattle operation today. Great characters all around. Its the number one show here by far. So everybody’s watching . Good storytelling trumps politics. The opening and settling of the West is a huge and complex story but in the end it’s always about defending your hunting ground however you can. Yellowstone drives that home

Expand full comment
author

If you like westerns I’d go 83

Expand full comment

TOO MANY GREAT SERIES TO WATCH.......

Expand full comment

Love Yellowstone, even if it does teeter on the unbelievable at times. How the FBI hasn't noticed the huge body count is ludicrous.

The whole world is great. 1883 is a good place to start. Enjoyed the first ep of 1923 with Harrison Ford and Helen Mirren. Looking forward to seeing how Jimmy goes at the 6666.

MrsS thought she would hate it because of the Trumpy politics but if anything there isn't much of that. She was hooked two eps in.

Expand full comment

Quite fond of Tulsa King myself. Getting a real sense of foreboding as the violence relentlessly escalates.

Haven't tried Yellowstone yet. Should I start with that or 1883?

Expand full comment

We just binged a 4-part mini-series from the effervescent Moffat/Vertue writer/producer team called The Inside Man, starring David Tennant and a very creepy Stanley Tucci. Certainly worth the handful of hours.

I'm interested in Yellowstone, but not sure I can get Ildi into it.

Expand full comment

Yellowstone is incredible; I was a bit meh on the first couple of episodes and then got utterly hooked and binged what was then the first 3 seasons. I've described it to friends as Sons of Anarchy with cowboys (I think SOA is another Taylor Sheridan project). I don't understand why it's been pegged as a conservative/red state show beyond its grounding in the mythology of the Old West and the colonisation of the US, but that does it a disservice. It's so much more complex, intelligent and moving than "the Sopranos for the MAGA crowd". I honestly doubt that the MAGA crowd would understand it.

The score over the opening credits is hauntingly beautiful, possibly the best TV soundtrack around.

Kevin Costner brings big movie star energy to it, but the rest of the cast keep up with him easily, the women especially are tremendous. Beth is Caitlin Monroe but with spreadsheets, assassinating people in the boardroom. For all that the Dutton men will violently protect what is theirs, Beth is ruthless in protecting the Dutton tribe, easily the most dangerous and most frightening Dutton in the bunch. The men can be reasoned with, but if Beth comes after you she will destroy you, your family, and your descendants for generations.

I've just started the prequel spin off, 1883, and while I'm only 2 episodes in it's also excellent. You're seriously missing out not watching Yellowstone.

Expand full comment

PS Any news on the AOT tv front?

Expand full comment

Big tick for Yellowstone. Beth is my favourite character

Expand full comment

Mr 17 is a fan - he showed me some of it (3 eps so far), and it's not bad. Funny, I thought 'Sopranos on horseback with big hats' myself...what with the criminality, odd bit of violence and people generally being pricks to each other. Maybe it's my mindset at the minute - I'm not totally getting into it. By comparison my wife put 'Emily in Paris' on the other day - vapid romcom stuff, but the scenery and fluffy story has grabbed me a bit more than the Costner horse opera at present. And Wifey likes it.

Expand full comment