13 Comments
Jan 5, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

It's amazing how deadlines make for cleaner kitchens, well-groomed lawns and a perfectly arranged pantry/linen closet/bookshelf.

Expand full comment
Jan 5, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I see where I have gone wrong with my life...I have water spots on my shower door...JFC...

Expand full comment

It appears my obsessively clean home and daily cleaning regime are at odds with the normal world.

Expand full comment

Did the fridge clean . Found some delicious elk blackstrap in a back corner that I completely forgot was in there . It was at least 3 weeks old. Damn. Felt like crying as I threw it out.

Expand full comment

Miss Marie Kendo is my decluttering and cleaning guru, she does it the Japanese way, with respect and politeness.

I love the way she apologises to everything that gets thrown out. Her business is booming since she became a YT sensation. Who else will come around to your house and bow respectfully and then ask for forgiveness to every doomed item.

Unfortunately my heart and soul, or as Rider Haggard says, "she who must be obeyed", has decreed that even if I throw the top of my VB stubbie bottle top into the bin, I have to apologise to it and express my deep sadness and regret, so as to assuage my guilt and remorse for such a heartless act. I rue the day that SWMBO stumbled upon the queen of clean during her ceaseless meandering through the catacombs of YT. Soon the abode of our marital bliss will be devoid of every item of impulse buying, I baulked at classifying our beloved pooch as goods and chattel, but I acquiesced with the bloody rooster and his harem. I sense that I too am becoming excess to requirement and will end up sharing the kennel with Fido.

Expand full comment

Is there a link to this listicle of terrible advice, or are we not rewarding this sort of nonsense journalism? 😊

Expand full comment