12 Comments
Feb 12, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

“The people I work on rigs with” I feel a Stu Redman / The Dave connection forming...

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

I'm glad to hear someone whose opinion I respect likes this show, because most of the reviews I've been reading have not been too kind.

I watched the first episode for free on youtube, and it was pretty good....but my reaction to it was mostly "TOO SOON." (I'm a funeral director in NYC metro. Last spring was very much not fun, though we've been handling things better since.) I was impressed with the portrayal of Harold- on my last reread of the book a year or two ago I was amazed at King's prediction of future trends- Harold is very much a proto-Incel. And I was glad to see that Frannie and Stu were casted closer to their ages in the book.(Not a knock on Molly Ringwald or Gary Sinise's performances, but it was distracting in the '94 version)

I look forward to watching this when I can "stand" it. (sorrynotsorry)

Expand full comment

The Stand was my intro to King's works. It remains in my top ten list of books.

Expand full comment

Coming back to this thread now that I've watched the last ep. Can anyone help me over the line with it? Was it necessary to take it that way? Could/would it have worked being more faithful to the original?

Expand full comment

The Stand is on my list of all time favourites along with 'lord of the rings' , 'dune' and a couple of slightly less well known 'my family and other animals' and 'enemy coast ahead' i reread these a lot ....

Expand full comment

I’m a HUGE fan of the book & the original adaptation... but I really love this version... I just wish that it didn’t have to end so soon.

Expand full comment

Loved the book. Sounds like this checks all of the diversity buttons. I’ll check it out, but, suspect, it will make me vomit on the contortions to make it relevant. I threw up in my m0uth at Whoopi Goldberg as Mum Abby ... pass.

Expand full comment

What I found interesting in the 2020s update of the story is how the women (Julie Lawry, and the Rat Woman) truly embrace their evil, and the men are beset by doubt and remorse when the reckoning comes. It's been so long since I read the novel (which is on my every growing TBR list, once I finish someone's trilogy about Stalin, and a hammer?) that I can't recall if this was a feature in the book or not. I don't recall it in the 94 version, but then it's been ages since I watched that too....

Expand full comment

Looking forward to watching it when the final episode drops, was interested in reading your take given your enjoyment of King and longstanding love of The Stand (after all what's not to love).

Expand full comment