6 Comments
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I get a fair bit of legitimate email from Australia Post, mostly because I've registered with them to get delivery notices for parcels and so on.

I kind of wish that I did get email from the government. Real email. All I get at the moment is email that says "you've got a message in your mygov inbox". Which I then ignore until it's too late, because logging into their lame web site and lame two-factor authentication in order to download a PDF "letter" just seems too lame for the 21st century.

I'm about to cancel the last service that delivers actual letters though, rather than email or parcels. That text-on-paper thing is over.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Best to write this before the series appears on Netflix...

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

bloody jury duty. There was a period there where i kept getting notifications i was summonsed, then they'd cancel two days before i had to show up for selection. And because they cancel before you have to show up physically on site it disqualified you from the exemption period so it went on for months. Frustrating for me and my employer "got another jury duty notice, could be off work soon, oops no, they cancelled". Repeat a month later. We do a PO Box in town as well and do the renewal rush. Living rural we were missing a lot of mail - either going to the place up the road with the same block number as us (but completely different road name), or just plain not turning up. Weirdly the postman delivered medical supplies the other day: left one box on top of the fence post for all to see and open to the vagaries of autumn weather and the other one a little slip saying come into town between the hours of 9.53 and 10.14 within 24hrs or it gets sent back. THis is your second and final notice (sarcasm on that last bit but strange they would drop one and leave the other in town, pita)

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

The bulk of S-mail in my postbox is from my local council, notifications about upcoming works the underground metro tunnel and station, replacement of non native tress in the reserve (most recent missive we are up to step 9 of the program. I guess its the best way to cover all the physical locations. Australia Post it could be worse they could try notifying you by text/SMS message I don't bother counting how many of those messages I see and block number.

Expand full comment
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Every single time there's a letter in the letterbox, it's not good.

Last time was my car rego up for renewal

Time before that was rates

Time before that etc etc.

Expand full comment

I can’t remember the last time I actually sat down and wrote a letter put a stamp on it and sent it off. Pretty sure it was the last century . Ya think Chatgpt can write in cursive? That might be worth a try

Expand full comment