14 Comments

now social media is giving me ridiculous sandwich recommendations across the world: https://sandwichsandwich.co.uk/

Expand full comment

Good timing. We are having Tonkatsu for dinner tonight as its the eldest's last week here before heading to Old Blighty for some study. These are over an inch thick, panko crumbed and deep fried til golden but juicy. Served with rice, Tonkatsu sauce, hot Japanese mustard, dashi simmered pumpkin and shredded cabbage with a squeeze of lemon. Ima gonna miss lunch today to ensure there's room. In saying all that.... the one in the picture looks OK....

Expand full comment

I think that thickness estimate is tall. No more than centimeter and a half, IMO. Otherwise I don't see how you could have both nicely browned panko _and_ nicely cooked pork medallion/cutlet.

(Pork katsu is on our regular menu rotation here, once I discovered how easy it was. Served on rice, rather than toast though.)

Expand full comment

Well.... 🤤

Expand full comment

look its an epic sandwich, but still not enough to temp me to the US anymore.

Expand full comment

Is it even a sandwich? Yes, there is apparently some bread sitting outside of the 5 cm of white meat. I get it, so it meets the dictionary definition. I'm just saying that it looks like someone wants to be able to say that all they had for lunch today was a little sandwich, and have really chowed down on half a keg of pig.

And don't get me started on those heart attack burgers. Just don't.

Expand full comment

i got heartburn just looking at this pic . . . . lol

Expand full comment