9 Comments

"driving her mother out to the RSPCA to rescue a couple of kittens," which for me conjures an image of night vision googles, laser trip wires and tactical turtlenecks ala Archer as they running out through the perimeter, alarms ringing, searchlights with arms full of kittens.

Expand full comment

And the worst thing about childhood Good Fridays, apart from nothing to do, was being forced to eat fish for lunch 🤮

And not the fun kind of fish that comes deep fried in batter, but actual fish with bones and worst of all NO CHIPS. My childhood resentment of my mother's lapsed Catholicism knew no bounds.

Expand full comment

Need to see pics of kittens,. Thanks in advance.

Expand full comment

They say that boredom is a necessary prerequisite for creativity. Not sure how much I believe that, but there certainly aren't any time gaps for boredom these days, and there's not much really jumping out from a creative point of view, so maybe. Not really looking forward to the cleaning-the-house-before-visitors that I've got scheduled. Maybe that'll stand in for a spot of boredom.

Expand full comment

I had a couple days off last week. Had some great plans Ended up going down a YouTube rabbit hole starting with Led Zeppelin Kashmir live and ending 4 hrs later with Ross Coulthart and UFOs . Felt bad until I realized that I can’t be held accountable for succumbing to the addiction of YouTube. I’m a victim . Yeah I know it’s f’n thin .

Expand full comment

I'm also doing nothing today, and for the rest of April, although today's rest is purely to digest the many homemade hot cross buns...and the backup store bought ones.

Expand full comment