16 Comments
Jun 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I've watched Vikings but got a bit waylaid and didn't finnish it. Ha. Couldn't resist the pun (feel free to unpost this one!). Have always seen The Kingdom sitting there but got a bit vikinged out (i also started listening to some of those scandi/germanic folk bands like Wardruna, Forndom and Heilung because it mellowed me out, especially around the firepit with a big beer on a dark night (there is an excellent vid on youtube of Einar Selvik from Wardruna performing with the Polish choir and an orchestra that is worth checking out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqhhlmz6gik). But i just noticed on SBS ondemand that they are playing all three seasons of Atlanta (Donald Glover's foray into television). Excellent series if you havent watched it and pretty much removed from a bunch of beardy whiteys pillaging the lands of old europe. Should be a good palate cleanser.

Expand full comment
Jun 20, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Ooh, this is in my endlessly growing watchlist on Netflix, but I shall get onto it ASAP. Merci to you and Mr Sandbrook!

Expand full comment

You’ve still got the Last Kingdom movie “Seven Kings Must Die” due out next year to look forward to (I think they wrapped filming a month or so ago);

https://www.devdiscourse.com/article/entertainment/2053806-the-last-kingdom-film-seven-kings-must-die-recent-updates-everything-we-know-so-far

Expand full comment

Isn't the name Uhtred son of Uhtred? I read all the books after watching the first series. I liked the tv series more than the books. The books are a bit too much Deux et Machina for my taste. Alexander Dreymon acting makes a very convincing character. Very memorable.

Expand full comment

Loved Last Kingdom, love your books too. Burned through Zero and Fail State like malware but where oh where can I get an ebook of American Killswitch?

Expand full comment

I haven’t watched the series, but I’ve read the Bernard Cornwell novels. They are very good.

Expand full comment

We started watching it in an all out Viking binge because we were already watching "Vikings"! Had to give up because it all became too confusing. It is on the list to restart.

Expand full comment

I too enjoyed this series, a bit pissed as I started to watch it when the last season ended thinking it was finished and had to wait for this final season. Well worth the wait, satisfying end the series. A better resolution than the Vikings series, which I also enjoyed.

Expand full comment

Check out Tom Holland’s brothers podcast, We Have Ways Of Making You Talk. Very informative.

Expand full comment

Have you watched Vikings? Interested to hear how it compares.

Expand full comment