19 Comments
Dec 14, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I hotspot at work, which works fine for what I do, and charge my phone at work (because I'm a tightarse and don't want to buy another charger for home). One morning my phone was beeping at me, in a tone that wasn't a text, ring or alarm. Turns out I'd been hotspotting all night (watching Netflix and other after hours tooling around) and didn't even notice the difference between that and my NBN connection...

Expand full comment

When we all get Elon’s Neuralink inside our scone, the signal will come direct from the radio mast atop the Central Services building. The day will be coming soon, when we will own nothing and be happy.

Expand full comment

<white hot rage font>Don't talk to me about fucking Optus ... jerks</white hot rage font>

Expand full comment

Internode and 46mpbs downloads , ping at 13. Internode also have a top notch help desk in Adelaide, who I don't call much because it just works. Infact it was so fast I downgraded it and used the difference to get the TV box thingy.

Expand full comment

do you get Aussie Broadband there? We got absolutely jack of optus and switched. Easy and haven't looked back. (Being rural we are on wireless broadband). We have a hiccough every now and again but aussie broadband actually contact us to let us know there are problems and they are working on it - optus we didn't hear from once. Takes work but these companies need us to move more often to keep them on their toes. They love a sleeping beauty customer (i think that is what i heard them called - a customer that doesn't ask for any contract improvements and just pays their bill on time paying shiteloads more than people moving around for deals)

Expand full comment

Why is internet so slow in Australia?

In the US, I pay $65.00 a month for gigabit service downloads and uploads.

Expand full comment