11 Comments

Too bad we can’t post pics. I’d show you a right proper Seppo breakfast.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023·edited Jan 11, 2023

That is the Engrish version of an American breakfast.

The corn could be “grilled corn” … maybe. Grits are stone ground and have the consistency of farina/cream of wheat. Don’t know anyone that eats grilled corn for breakfast. It is delicious though.

The scone looks to be a biscuit . No sausage gravy? Tsk tsk.

What the hell is that sauce?

And what in the name of the gods are those fried things?

Poached egg? Bah! And only one? Double BAH!

Expand full comment

Looks like a sort of Texas breakfast. I was in Canyon Texas last week near Amarillo. Chicken fried steak and eggs , hasbrown and biscuit. And gravy of course. Got to have gravy . My wife had real heart stopper , chicken fried bacon. Awesome .

Expand full comment

As a Texan, I applaud the effort. And BBQ is always appreciated. My observations are as follows. Biscuits are good, white gravy is missing. Instead of ribs, I'd go for sausage. I'm sorry but those aren't hash browns; they look like crab cakes. And corn kernels? No way. Having said that, I'm certain you enjoyed it.

Expand full comment

Now I'm hungry

Expand full comment

It's always a sight to see takes on US food overseas. Just like I'm sure you'd have a good laugh at Outback Steakhouse.

Expand full comment

if it wasn't potato would it possibly be some kind of cornbread thing fried to a crisp?

I regularly go out into the garden and pick hearts ease flowers for the salad, same for chives flowers - i would guess it was just a token nod in the direction of a salad and the splash of blue "pops" in all that golden yellow goodness of things that have been fried :)

Expand full comment