8 Comments
Nov 16, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

Follow the lead of your feline overlords and go with a nap

Expand full comment
Nov 16, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

I take my hat off to anyone who will work through the night just so I can enjoy a fresh loaf of light rye on a Saturday morning.

Expand full comment

Good to see offspring in employment making dough ...........................'I'll see myself out".

Expand full comment

My sourdough starter is older than some of my grandchildren and is generally addressed as "Mother" (or Mum), as in " better feed mum before going to bed, and I must remember to put her in the fridge before we head off for the weekend!"

Being a baker would be my dream fourth (or fifth?) career, but those 2am starts would kill me....

Expand full comment

"Baker's apprentice" - a time-tested honest profession for a young man :)

Expand full comment

Do you have a timeline for the Portuguese tart lessons?

Expand full comment

I worked in a bakery on weekend mornings for about 6 weeks. The high heat, humidity and hard work uncovered a wheat intolerance that meant every hour or so I would have to take a break to throw up. Suffice to say that after 6 weeks of that they suggested that perhaps I should consider a job more conducive to my health.

It's a tough job but a good business to be in. It's possible to make a good living and no matter what the economic conditions, people will always buy bread.

Expand full comment