13 Comments

You know that they have credit cards, the internet and ATMs in Singapore, right?

I can't remember the last time I took foreign cash with me on board an aeroplane, back to its country of origin. The last two trips I never did bother acquiring hard currency at all: all local exchanges took place with plastic or phone. Previously I'd just grab some cash at the first ATM I came to, but that hasn't been necessary for years.

That is a very fine looking tea and cake though. Need some afternoon tea, now.

Expand full comment

I am finding more and more the real world more and more disappointing

Expand full comment
Dec 20, 2022·edited Dec 20, 2022

I highly recommend Wise for managing currencies and transactions while travelling. It worked particularly well in Singapore, with the best conversion rates, most minimal transaction fees (including ATMs) I’ve ever experienced. Depending on your plans, give Pulau Ubin a go. The area around the ferry terminal to get there at Changi Village is also a great little area - a green leafy alternative to Singapore’s urban areas, but still with some awesome hawker stalls, restaurants and a great brewpub/beer garden.

Expand full comment

While I do sometimes go into the office, which is on Edward St near Central, I find myself sourcing lunch from one of the places on Wickham or Astor Terrace or else go sit in the cafeteria in the Metropole. So seeing something like that ricotta cake at Strauss is inspiring. Of course I'd have to walk down the hill, and then back up it again.

Expand full comment