13 Comments

“Lots of people make knives with lousy handles.”

“Lots of c*nts.”

Expand full comment

If the steel is OK a new handle isn't hard to do (consider using split screws rather than rivets considering where it's cracked). As others have mentioned dishwashers kill knives. You also could wrap the handles.

Expand full comment

Most decent knife handles don't like the dishwasher. I've a good Wusthof chef's knife that has a handle in need of replacing - apparently it's a pretty do-able DIY thing, achievable with nowt more than a couple bits of wood, some epoxy, and a rasp.

But for paring knives? Don't both getting anything that isn't a $5 victorinox cheapy. The steel holds a good edge, you can chuck 'em in the dishwasher, and they're cheap as chips.

Expand full comment

Terry Pratchett's economic theory on boots springs to mind here. While I too am not a chef or much of a cook (baking is a different thing altogether) I did invest in a good knife set and haven't looked back. You do get what you pay for.

Expand full comment

It looks like plastic so just heat it up until it self-repairs

Expand full comment

Cutting social commentary here from you JB.

I'll see myself out.

Expand full comment

I have very happily dropped hundreds on a knife. And then I get Unimpressed when I see it in the dishwasher. Fortunately I've been able to rescue them before the machine has been switched on.

On the other hand, if you are going to happily throw them in dishwasher, then definitely don't spend up on them.

Finally, I've found that the best knife sharpener is the base of a coffee cup. It just hones the edge without taking metal (or much metal?) off the blade.

Expand full comment

death by dishwasher? Things should be able to handle dishwashers these days.

Expand full comment