7 Comments
Oct 5, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

We’re paying the price for a couple of decades of having things in storage or hidden downstairs at the back of the garage. Now we’re in a townhouse with the garage ‘right there’ and in constant sight, we’re having to sort through it all. It’s 90% shit or it belongs to the children. It is nice discovering an old JB novel in a box of books though.

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

My rule is to throw stuff out when it's taking up room I now need, until then it may still prove useful

Expand full comment

And shadows of branches steal in through the window the oak desk

that’s so fragile I am forced to love it has exploded just a little bit.

https://www.nereview.com/2017/07/25/nick-admussen/

Expand full comment

Understand the stuff dilemma. I thought I had gotten pretty good at divesting myself of extraneous bits with multiple moves over many years. But now our house is full of my stuff, hubby's stuff, hubby's deceased ex wifes stuff (I am giving up on apostrophes at this point), deceased Mum stuff, and leftover stuff from Dad who lived with us. I don't even recognize most of it...but somehow am loath to let go of lots . Any advice on how to start divesting...probably should start with the king single electronic bed in my dining room. I will take offers.

Expand full comment