2 Comments
Jun 23, 2020Liked by John Birmingham

These posts hit me with a crap ton of ambivalence, I love-hate them on a truly astronomical scale.

Initially warmed by a sense of camaraderie and fellowship as I see those series I have also read and enjoyed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, The Remembrance of Earth's Past trilogy, The Salvagers Series (third ebook due to drop in a couple of days), The Imperial Radch series (forever remembered in my head as the Imperial Radish) and, (shudder) The Stars Are Legion -remarkable read but gave me its own distinct category of nightmares.

Then the ones by authors I have read but hadn't picked up that particular series The Interdependency Series, The Binti novella series, and Dragon Pearl. I had just finished Yoon Ha Lee's extraordinary Machineries of Empire trilogy which is one of those stories I want to buy copies for all my friends and extort them to read it just so I have someone to talk to about how brilliant it is.

Then the ones which I realize when I go to add them to my want to read list in goodreads and discover I already have them listed but had forgotten I had already had someone review and I thought sounded interesting such as Noumenon.

As another interesting series I would add the historian Ada Palmers Science fiction Tetralogy Terra Ignota: Too Like the Lightning, Seven Surrenders, The Will to Battle and yet to be released Perhaps the Stars.

Then after checking that Australian life expectancy of a male born in the year I was born, number of hours in a day I get to read, various conflicts, and a meditation on my own mortality I suspect I may not finish my to-read list. I certainly won't if you writers keep putting out books as addictive as these.

Expand full comment