24 Comments
Nov 9, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I love the one for the "School for the gifted" with the kid pushing against the door marked "Pull"

Classic!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Also one of my faves was the Mozzies "Pull out you've hit an artery!"

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

If you're not already aware, this is a daily dose of farside classics

https://www.thefarside.com/

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I remember this one!

My all time fave, and the first Far Side I saw, is two deer in the forest, "bummer of a birthmark, Hal". I probably laughed for a full hour.

Expand full comment

I used to have a huge volume of his cartoons. It included several that he didn’t dare publish . One had a snake in the middle of a baby’s crib with a big lump in its belly. Caption was... you didn’t see this....another of my favs was a kid sitting on the spare tire in the back of a darkened station wagon. His memory of family vacations. Genius stuff

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I was always a fan of the "Far Side Lite: Not funny, but better for you" one I had (back in the heady days when there was a Far Side Day-To-Day Calendar)

Expand full comment

When you simply say the words “Midvale School for the Gifted” and the other person smiles and nods…

Expand full comment

Thagomizer

Expand full comment

You can't go past Gazza for longevity in funniness.

Expand full comment

Bummer of a birthmark, Hal

Expand full comment

someone posted a Scott Hilburn comic on the book of face recently and i was taken aback. Apparently not Gary Larson in disguise

https://twitter.com/argyle_sweater?lang=en

Expand full comment

My wife owns The Complete Far Side - an enormous 2 volume hardback compendium that weighs about 12kg and is apparently canonical - which she's never opened.

I gave it to her as a gift, after I'd owned it for 8 years and also never opened it.

But somehow, having it and knowing those cartoons are there makes everything a little better.

Expand full comment

the artist even had a louse named after him

Expand full comment

My brother and I just quote captions to each other: ‘Bummer of a birthmark, Hal’

Expand full comment

love it. dont think I have seen that one either. when he published the website linked below I was on there daily....till I (thought) i'd seen em all....again

Expand full comment