12 Comments

Yeah it’s not just you. I think of it in the (rough) context of I only have so much energy that I can productively “output “ each day. On travel days/trips we want to maximise our value, so we crank up the “output “, and borrow said output from future days. So when we get home and switch off/ down gears there is a need to recharge the energy banks before we get back to usual service.

Expand full comment

Travel, period, does this to me.

Expand full comment

i build in a day off after holidays as a rest day, does that count? As an office worker i'm probably only working at 80% efficiency most of the time anyway so getting to work the next day after a work trip is probably business as usual. I havent travelled for work since before the covid years. Management got really comfortable with the video meeting - although things are starting to gear back up in the place i work. Will have to keep an eye on it when i am asked to start travelling again but usually i have more work from a travel event rather than less.

Expand full comment

I am always amazed by the endurance of campaigning political leaders. They are working long hours before the campaign, meetings, lots of homework, roleplays etc.

Then into the campaign, 6 weeks in the case of the last Australian federal election.

Working long hours, 7 days a week, lots of travel, meetings, press conferences, answering endless barbed questions, camera following you everywhere, pressure, pressure, more briefings, more homework. I noted, at one stage, that Albanese was in Perth one afternoon and North Qld the next morning. All this must be epically draining.

Then, finally, the Saturday election, another huge day.

Sunday, maybe a little sleep in, then more meetings and phone calls.

Monday, Albanese attended his PM investiture and then flew to Tokyo for the Quad meeting.

I’d be sedated in a darkened room.

Expand full comment

1000% suffer from this. You are going from an environment where someone else is making your bed, cleaning your room, washing your clothes, cooking your food etc. and then when you get to work because you travelled people often say “thank you so much for coming all this way” to “the dog shat on the rug again why haven’t you cleaned it up yet”

Expand full comment

As an anecdote to the "post-princess syndrome" caused by sycophants treating you like a God, I am prepared to lavish insults upon you regularly, purely for efficient writing practices to prevail. Just let me know when I should start.

Expand full comment

Can't say I travel enough to have experienced what you have described. These days all my time I seem to spend in a strange daze, I figured its living through a period of time facing fundamental existential threats but acting like its the usual sustainable world I grew up in. I was curious as to how it got dubbed the 'post-princess syndrome' as it seems a bit hard on princesses but having met Jane my only response is "yes of course you are correct and I am sorry to have asked".

Expand full comment

I’ve only travelled overseas for work, to Europe, so in a week doing 4 days work and essentially 3 days travelling, I end up exhausted at the end. There’s no hope of anything productive after that.

Expand full comment