22 Comments

I guess the heathen in me is showing- I've never considered wine with pizza. This is something I must try. I wonder what would do best with bacon and mushroom, and heaping mozzarella, of course.

Expand full comment

We are ignoring the elephant in the room here people. Pairing anything with a pizza that has pineapple on it means you are culturally dead and without hope of redemption. Please provide an address for these folk and I will gladly burn their little tropical paradise of fools to the ground.

Expand full comment

Showing my heathen ways and also child's palate, but there's nothing like a cold can of Coke to cut through the oil and fat of a good pizza.

Expand full comment

I pair wine with food with this simple formula: Wine = whatever I have AND Food = whatever's cooking. Haven't made an error yet.

Expand full comment

A metre long Diavola spicy little number and a couple of pints of icy cold Moretti from Arrivederci in Milton and I am a happy camper

I also need someone to eat it with..... its is a LOT of tasty pizza.

Expand full comment

The Hawaiian Pizza (ham, pineapple, cheese) was invented by Sam Panopoulos at the Satellite Restaurant in Chatham, Ontario, Canada in 1962. True!

Expand full comment

oh god, pizza is a borderline food wank topic for me. I. Must. Resist. But talking about beer pairing with food i always thought it was just a wank. Until i accidentally stumbled on a pairing that was downright amazing and changed my mind about it forever - i was trying a belgian witbier, one of those stupidly high percentage ones, and just happened to be eating thai for dinner. It was like a taste explosion in my mouth. I immediately reverted to: sip beer, forkful of food, groan. The only thing i can put my finger on was that they both use coriander as a common ingredient? But they complemented each other so well that i dont scoff at food/alcohol pairings anymore.

Expand full comment

There's never a reason to drink sav blanc

Expand full comment

Large Hawaiian or Supreme, goon bag of Fruity Lexia or (preferably) 6 pack of Tooheys (beer brand can reflect state of origin) and you are set for a dinner of Champions

Expand full comment

"Apparently, it’s not as simple as pulling a cork on the house red and splashing it into an old vegemite jar" However counter argument perhaps it is.

Expand full comment

Slossing a pizza down with a fine chardonnay (South African, Aussie or Chilean) is always a good idea. And you can order 25cm pizza's (queen size ;-) )

Expand full comment