9 Comments

I saw this in the cinema, and really enjoyed it, although like you I found the romantic subplots fricking weird and unnecessary.

Aaaaaaages ago there was a movie about Ian Fleming's early career, in which Sean Connery's son played Fleming, and this idea came up in that movie as part of a scene about his work for MI6. In the Ian Fleming biopic it was a throwaway "Don't be ridiculous Fleming!" line in response to the idea and that was it, and we were left to assume that it never progressed beyond a crazy idea.

The biopic was released long before the documents on Operation Mincemeat were declassified and we discovered that this was something they actually put into action, so I was quite amazed when I watched this and realised not just that they went through with it, but the lengths they had to go through to achieve what amounted to a war time hail Mary pass. It really highlights how desperate they were that this was even entertained, never mind executed.

Expand full comment

The movie is on Netflix in the US and I enjoyed it. Also saw A Call to Spy about Vera Atkins, equally good.

Expand full comment

Thought Strange New Worlds was way better than Woke Trek Discovery. And the finale was a slick alt timeline telling of one of maybe the best episodes of original Star Trek

Expand full comment

"I never tire of watching the Nazis get their arses kicked" its one of my favourite genres.

Im loving Brave new Worlds and as another hard core trek fan I'm interested in both yours and Jane's take on the final ep of the season.

Expand full comment