14 Comments
Jun 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

I think it was Skeleton Crew for me that made me fall in love with Stephen King's shorter stuff.

Expand full comment

Or the Bachman Books! I believe Rage is no longer in print. The making of The Running Man into a movie was also a very strange adaption.

Expand full comment

At the expense of sounding like a Tweed jacketed and leather elbowed toff by using the word "Lovecraftian"; I suppose there are many supernatural elements to King's horror, but the true terror comes from within the characters themselves and how I/we as the reader, realise we are very capable of thinking and committing such terrible acts, given the circumstances and motivation.

Expand full comment

The boogeyman was the one with the cupboard (and something to do with a drain or a car . . . . not It) but i think it followed him through the sewers from house to house yeah? Jeez that gave me the willies when i innocently picked it up one day. I really need to get a copy of this to give to the kids. They will probably scoff but when King is on point its really hard not to inhale those books.

Expand full comment

How many of King's short stories has the Simpsons used for its Halloween Specials?

Expand full comment

His novella 'Cabal' for me

Expand full comment