6 Comments

I don't know if my NBN is awesome, but I ended up getting a slower version (from platinum to gold) to save 30 dollars and then I got a fetch box, which now comes with Prime. Basically I can game on with 10 ping, while my better half watches endless true life murder shows, with spotify going and downloading stuff (ie the new trek cartoon in 3 minutes in HD) So its way better than asdl when I was more than 5 km from the exchange. My youtube uploads are noticeably faster, but the content probably hasn't improved much https://youtu.be/HinkNttZQC4

Expand full comment

Yep, pretty much my experience with Optus changing over to the NBN. Wouldn't have wanted to be leaving it to the last minute and hoping that it would be connected in time.

Expand full comment

I live in a mega city in the U.K.

I won’t have anything faster than 30/7 for quite a while....

Expand full comment

I've been happy with my NBN-over-coax. In the end the switch-over was easy, and I'm getting just about the advertised 100/40. That's much the same down as before, but so much more up that it feels like new. I doubt that it matters much who you pay for it, although perhaps service responsiveness varies. The brand and setup of your wi-fi router probably varies too. It's all the same pipes in the back-end. As it should be. Have you seen the street-wiring in the countries that allow open-slather competition between service providers? Amazing that the poles stay up, under the weight of cables.

Expand full comment

probably the first you will see is an increase in latency if and when your part of Brisney (at least that part that is on the same neighborhood extension) is hitting the Flix, Prime or is Zooming, 4K gaming etc. That is especially true if you live more then 3 kliks from that datapoint.

Expand full comment

Ha. You could be dealing with Frontier. A blazing 6.34 dl / .67 ul over here.

Expand full comment