8 Comments
Mar 31, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

REM cycles are about 90 minutes, so that's the perfect nap time. If you go over or under, you may wake up in the middle of a cycle, where "Your brain waves at this stage, called delta waves, are at their slowest of the night. Waking you is difficult, and those who are roused from this stage experience sleep inertia, a short period of fogginess and impaired cognitive performance."

I like to go to bed and wake/set an alarm so I get a nice round number of 90 minute cycles. Sometimes I wake up early, but usually about 1 cycle short.

Do I think about this too much? Probs.

Expand full comment

I had to start work at 6:30am on Tuesday because my organisation is based in the eastern states and I have to occasionally work on AEDT. But because I'm an idiot I went to bed after 11pm the night before, after coming off a post midnight effort on Sunday night. Because I started at the crack of why am I awake I was able to finish work by 2:30 and by 3pm I was back in bed embarking on a 3 hour nap which was GLORIOUS and left me feeling fully functional for the first time in 2 days.

I submit this to double the anecdotal samples in your selection.

Expand full comment

Big believer in short naps. The NYT doesn't know everything.

Expand full comment

ha. The re-release comes just in time for kid#1 to be moving out of home and facing living with a bunch of strangers/friends (i will have to state the caveat that it is not a manual but a guide lol)

I'm a big fan of the 20min sections of naps. They help when i get up early for sunrise photos or a bushwalk or a day of hard chores. Never had a problem going to sleep and suspect i'd be the guy in a drop ship tumbling through another worlds turbulent atmosphere having a sleep before engagement with acid boiling blood aliens.

Expand full comment

I'm a big fan of both Falafel and naps, so this is me clapping along enthusiastically to this post.

After repeating the pattern enough times to recognise bits of it afterwards, at Uni, I formuated the rule that if I'm awake at 4AM, the next day is going to be a disaster. I had a lecture note once, from the day after an all-night proect, that documets falling asleep with pen-scratch random-walking down the page. I call it the four-o-clock rule. Be sound asleep by four and things will work themselves out. Fail that and badness. IMO. YMMV.

Expand full comment

I loved (still do) Felafel and to me it was written the way it was supposed to me. I read it not long after release when I was doin what it was about...specifically share housing... and specifically livin for the hours between 11pm and 5am...those were the best times to be around in the share house scene.

gotta say I'm looking forward to the re-release, will enjoy re-livin those days, and enjoy that I am well past em! will give it to my kids and tell em what they have to look forward to

Expand full comment