12 Comments

I keep trying to convince those in my orbit of the wisdom of protective cases. Sigh.

Expand full comment

You need to own this - rock out with your cock out, as it were.

Be bold. Don’t show that phone any fear or it will react instinctively and leap to its death. I’ve seen it before. Like a nervous fainting goat.

The only reasonable course forward is to fiddle fuck with it constantly. Show it that you have zero fucks to give and that it has no hold over you. This is the way.

Expand full comment

Made the transition to IPhone a couple years ago. Remembering when my parents limited tv time to a couple hours a night claiming that box would rot your brain. Can’t imagine trying to limit kids addiction to tech nowadays. You would be charged with child abuse . Also miss my old Casio GZ flip phone a lot. It went through the washing machine. Run over by my truck. Kept going.

Expand full comment

I am a convert to the OPPO which comes with its own see through rubberish case. And it's so cheap you don't even care if you drop it. Just another way to remove anxiety from my life.

Expand full comment

I hate my phone on so many levels it's tempting to remove the sheath and 'accidently' drop it .

Expand full comment

I had a case for my first smart phone, an iPhone 3, and was disappointed to eventually discover that the pocket lint that had worked its way between phone and case had scratched the back of the phone much worse than my pocket would have. So I haven't done that again. Instead, I've sought out cheap-and-cheerful phones with (preferably) plastic bodies, and trust to being careful. So far I'm batting about even in terms of phones that have died of "natural causes" (like chip delamination due to thermal cycling) vs ones that I've killed by dropping them on tragically unyielding surfaces. My all-time favourite was the Nexus 5, a plastic-cased wonder. The Nokia was beautiful, but turned out to be tragically fragile...

Expand full comment

I'm rocking a Elgoog Pixel 2- 5 years old soon. I could take it out of the case with impunity now, given that this sucker has surely been depreciated to zero dollars by now.

The battery is still good for a solid 24 hours at least. It's got to be onto its 4th or 5th case, and has been dropped, dripped and drooled upon (by a toddler with a serious Bluey addiction) more times than I could think about counting.

I'd love a new phone (ooooo shiny!), but this thing just keeps on doing everything that is asked of it.

Expand full comment

They always feel so small when they're undressed.

Expand full comment