11 Comments
Dec 19, 2021Liked by John Birmingham

Yup, big fan of the Smartfire, which pairs well to the meater probe (for when you decide to expand your bbq ecosystem).

I’ve also found this mob to be a great source of proper smoking woods and charcoal - https://www.ironwoodbarbecue.com.au/. Much better quality than the overpriced shite you get from Bunnings.

Expand full comment

A SHORT CONVERSATION WITH MY WIFE

ME: Hey, honey - look what JB just bought. I think we need one.

LORI: [after reading post] Probing has never been easier.

Expand full comment

I hadn't given a thought as to what woods you use down there until I read through the comment thread. Mango? (Shakes head). If it works, it works. Maybe for next year I should send down a bag of hickory or oak chunks, just to switch things up.

Expand full comment

I got the Meater+ for the extra range. Love it. The ambient seems to take a while to match up with what I see on my usual wired probes but it does get there eventually. Have to really clean the bejeezus out of the end cap post-cook to keep it accurate though.

Expand full comment

I had a Big Green Egg….never seemed to be consistent…got rid of it. It seems I needed a wireless meat probe…too late!

Expand full comment

Sounds made up to me. Personally, I won't believe you until I see a picture of a perfectly BBQ'd coral trout.

Good looking pork, though, mate.

Expand full comment