15 Comments
Dec 6, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I went into one today for the first time in many years because it's next door to where I had to leave my car for an hour's work.

The coffee was so-so - I've had worse, the touch machines were bewildering and it was so noisy - radio blasting and machines beeping. I'm officially old.

Expand full comment
Dec 4, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

That's what it's like now, and I think it's been like that ever since they moved away from the nicely congealed burgers to the system where everything is stacked badly, flung down the bench so that it hits the wall at the end and deconstructs, hipster-like.

I only go if I'm desperate, and the local one has this weird, winding, almost single lane entry road so you can't bail out if you come to your senses.

Expand full comment

I live in Hipster Central. Anyone drinking Macca's coffee is sent to a re-education camp on the other side of the Quinoa Curtain. Some don't come back.

Expand full comment

Growing up on a ranch in Colo the nearest McDonald’s was 30 miles away when I was a kid. Used to be a huge treat to get a Quarter pounder and fries. Great being a kid and being happy with a cheeseburger. Griping about food is a first world problem. Sometimes we forget how damn lucky we are. I do it all the time too .

Expand full comment

The last time I thought about getting a McDonald's breakfast I remembered Subway did a breakfast footlong and was much happier filling my belly with that!

Expand full comment

As you say, not an eatery in the first rank. Also expensive these days. You might as well have a sit-down at a decent place.

Expand full comment

Ive seen those automated machines in the entrance areas of McDonalds, never tried one so hats off to you.

Expand full comment

The irony about Macca's is that they are a real estate company, not a fast food Joint, the franchisee is the burger man. All Macca's outlets stand on the land that they own and receive a monthly payment as rent. A nice little earner.

If I need a comfort stop on long trips, they are cleaner than most servo dunnies. Plus the free WiFi is handy.

The ubiquitousness of the arches spawns rumours that a new outlet is opening at the Everest base camp, plus the construction of the new one at the black stump is well on the way, but the delivery drivers can't find it on their sat nav. Macca's has become a career path for the children of the Kalahari bushmen, but the glass coke bottles have been replaced by plastic ones, but still, the elders speak of the big bird in the sky, long ago when the gods were crazy.

If ever you are passing through the Shire, stop off at Paul's Burgers, an Aussie tradition for over sixty years. If ya don't I'll rip ya bloody arms off!

Expand full comment

Go for the burger/muffin/fries - stay for the reflux.....

I don't know whether they use canola / rapeseed oil/ recycled diesel, but I'm always left with an aftertaste for the next 24 hours.

Expand full comment

Mrs W, Junior W and I stopped in at a Hungry Jacks between Brisbane and Noosa a few weeks ago, about 20 minutes before the most incredible tacky theme world, which we'd have totally gone for if we'd known that it was coming up.

The food at this Hungry Jacks, or Burger King cos they did some inconsistent rebranding a decade or so back and I don't know which it is now, was ... technically ... food. It had the same touch screen ordering system as you describe. The ambience that they seemed to be aiming for was transient desperation. The best part about it had to be the lacklustre customer service. We watched people's names/numbers being called out, a bag of food plonked onto the counter and the CSO dribbling the phrase "enjoyyourmealhaveagreatday" as she was already 3 paces back into the kitchen area.

I suspect these staff members had been rejected by TackyWorld just up the road.

Expand full comment