12 Comments

I remember watching this as a kid and thinking "is this what the military is really like?" My veteran relatives all laughed along with it- back then most families had real contact with the military. When I grew older and put on the uniform myself, I realized that yes, the Army is chock full of asshats and numbskulls. But there were also real heroes and quiet professionals, just like the show. MASH was great.

Expand full comment

MASH came in at 16 in the best TV shows of all time. I would have gone a lot higher.

https://www.rollingstone.com/tv-movies/tv-movie-lists/100-greatest-tv-shows-of-all-time-105998/mash-102138/

Expand full comment

Colonel Flagg will never be forgotten.

Expand full comment

"one of the first comments was from some MAGA loon screaming at them for betraying America".... of course they made that comment.

Expand full comment

The early episodes with Col Blake and Frank were the best. I. Can’t remember the episode name but Blake was looking for contraband in Hawkeyes tent and shook the stove flue and was covered in soot. That still sends me into a fit of laughter every time. The early episodes were politically incorrect now but they were funny as hell. We need more laughter these days

Expand full comment

I can watch any ep of MASH and enjoy it. I think the closest modern show (ie in the golden era of tv) for laughter and sadness was Scrubs, and hasn't that aged waaaayyyy faster than MASH?

Expand full comment

I can't help focusing on laughs tracks to distraction these days. I wonder how it would have gone without them. I saw some boffin who took laughs tracks out of the big bang theory, as he had an absolute hatred for it, and wanted to show how unfunny it was and undeserving of its accolades. But i'm not sure MASH comes under that category by a long shot. I seem to remember the serious bits more than i do the comedy but i was watching reruns by the time i got to it and not something i watched with regularity as it was more a soundtrack in the background (as well as Happy Days and the like)

Expand full comment

How good did they do in inferring the Vietnam War, the BIL and nephew thought that was the war it was set in.

Expand full comment