14 Comments

Would love to see an adaptation of the Legends of Dune trilogy, cymeks, omnius etc

Expand full comment

yeah I loved it. thought they really nailed it. Many great bits, but the thopters are worth a call out for interesting tech and getting it right

Also worth noting that Paul Atreides is not a whiny little bitch that can so often happen to that type of protagonist character (looking at at you star wars!!!!!)

Expand full comment

It was so good! I was able to see it on the big screen thanks to living in the Independent Sovereign Nation of Westralia, but still had to mask up in the cinema when I wasn't eating my choc top.

What was odd for me was that when the final credits rolled I felt the movie had been too short and had compressed the time line on the events on Arrakis, because it seemed like Paul's family had only been there for 5 mins before everything went to shit. It was shocking to realise it was 2 and a half hours long and STILL left me wanting more.

You'll be pleased to know that according to IMDB part 2 is in production and allegedly slated for 2023. Fingers crossed!

Expand full comment

Speaking of pork butts, can we have a Big Green Egg update please?

Expand full comment

Villanueve finally got it right. It could have been a mini series but 2 parts should cover it. I have read it at least 3 times over the yrs. It’s held up all these yrs. Timely even today. Doesn’t matter who’s in charge. The spice must flow

Expand full comment

Agree: terrific film/interpretation. Also agree with Justin that the thopters were one of the best bits: all of the other Dune movies have had thopters that didn't make sense. These just totally fit in, and you can imagine them being real. In fact, I expect our drone-racing friends to start building them for real before too long: short-throw oscillation can be done quite efficiently in various ways (think loudspeaker coil).

The one thing that I had worried about, from the pre-release information, was Jason Momoa as Duncan: didn't fit my mental image from the book, but I thought that he really nailed it. Intense Duncan, just a little bigger.

So looking forward to the next one.

You do know that you can stream it multiple times, on the streaming services, right? (I did "buy" a copy though, because I couldn't wait that long...) Was good on the big screen, too, but it's a pity we don't have any Dolby Cinemas with the HDR laser projection in Australia.

Expand full comment

I think Toto would have made a better soundtrack ...

Expand full comment

TeeHee you said Butt.

I managed to catch it in IMAX during one of the troughs between the waves of COVID it was indeed brilliant.

Expand full comment

Loved it. Big, thinky, the landscape was almost a character. Went with some friends who don’t have the longest attention span, and they did struggle. One of the comments was “ It wasn’t a Marvel film .”

Expand full comment

I'm on a booze break at the moment but am planning to fork out some $$ to rent this in the coming couple of weekends when i break the seal. I too had plans to watch this at the cinema and was going to go on my bday - shakes fist at covid for that bday present scuttled. And then it was gone when i was able to go. Happy bday for the other day as well.

Expand full comment