16 Comments

I just scanned the headline for this piece and it read in my head to the tune "The Devil Went Down to Georgia". Apologies -any resemblance of JB to "the Devil" or Canberra as Georgia is purely coincidental.

Expand full comment

Ah hot curries - some years back myself and mates were in Canberra for a games tournament (nerdfest!), and we went to dinner at an indian restaurant whose names evades me. Two of our number decided on a Hot Curry Challenge and ordered the hottest, non Aussie curry they could provide. Of the pair, one chap bowed out sweating like a squeezed sponge and blazing red - the other chap who had a cast iron constitution, leaned over and said 'oh, aren't you finishing that?' and then scraped the remaining food onto his own plate to finish. No, I didn't sample it!

Expand full comment

If you’re ever in St. Louis let me know, I’ll take you out for a real meal and get you a ride in a police helicopter and than we can go out and fire some weapons at the farm..

😁

Expand full comment

Well

That might be a touch brisk weatherwise

Expand full comment

mmm curry. Assuming indian? I've been branching out on dishes everytime we go to indian and found some nice dishes outside the usual. I had a paneer tikka masala the other week and was surprised by how nice the smoked cottage cheese was in a nice curry sauce wrapped in some naan. They asked if i wanted hot, which is always yes, but it was white person hot. Yet to find a place that can produce a nice spicy dish when you say you want it hot. I probably wouldnt be able to handle the actual spicy one anyway so i should be careful what i wish for lol.

Dal makhani has also hit the top of the list for me - love that dish. Hard to convince the kids to branch away from butter chicken though. My family look at me weird when ever i go for something unknown - like i'm an unpredictable firecracker about to go off. I've had more good surprises than bad. Had a salt and pepper tofu from the local chinese place once that was in the bad category - not horrible, just that it was too much to eat by myself because no-one wanted to share. Just realised the three dishes i mentioned were vegetarian, which i'm not, i just dont hold any prejudices on vegetarian food. All are equally valid when on the menu.

Expand full comment

Keen- hit me up, I think you've got my email.

Expand full comment