14 Comments

I find myself really missing the days when WA was the Independent Sovereign Nation of Westralia and we were being accused of being cave people and a hermit kingdom and we could give the filthy eastern plague states the middle finger as we pointed to our status as a COVID zero hermit kingdom where we were living it up like it was 2019 and the science boffins were only warning us that we were overdue a pandemic, and not living through one.

My father passed away last year and his funeral service was standing room only. I'll never not be grateful to Supreme Leader for Life Mark McGowan that I didn't have to navigate the trauma and grief of that loss and organise a funeral during a lockdown. We didn't even need to wear masks on the day we said goodbye.

Expand full comment

Ive seen an article that has titled it The Forever Plague, partially how it seems to fu#k over your T and B cells.

Expand full comment

I've never stopped wearing the mask, and it shits me that people won't/can't wear one for whatever pathetic reason they can come up with. Don't get me started on the dicknose peeps or those people desperately trying not to catch chin covid.

Expand full comment

I'd say the reluctance on the part of govt mandating masks allies with that whole 'we have to open up the economy' thing that is beloved of sections of our legislators, and their donors. As a habitual mask wearer I can't understand the reluctance of some folks to wearing the things, particularly in light of the virulence of both the Spicy Cough and/or the latest flu variants.

Expand full comment

Just came back from a lovely vacation and half the fam are wiped out with it.

Including me.

I cannot, in any way, recommond this fucking thing.

Expand full comment

As you say, people are over it, but I’m a little surprised how resistant the gubbermint is to bringing back the mask mandate, at least during peak viral season.

Expand full comment