6 Comments
Apr 18, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Jack Handey does this, so no wonder you're drawn to him. Steven Wright too, such as, "I'm writing a book. I've got the page numbers done."

Expand full comment

I don't know what it says about my sense of humour that your funniest columns are the ones you pulled out of nowhere because you were out of ideas, beyond also having grown up on Looney Tunes

Expand full comment

Would many of the funniest parts of the Princess Bride be considered recontextualisation? I'm specifically thinking of "“Inconceivable!" "You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” or is it just word play? Does recontextualisation require a visual component ? clearly not as you have said you have used it in your work.

Expand full comment

Can't it be more like what that judge said about naughty...ahem...stuff: "I don't know how to define it, but I know what it when I see it"?

Expand full comment